No fault auto insurance is also known as personal injury protection (PIP). It is an insurance coverage that mainly pertains to injury, medical expenses, and income loss. Under some states no fault laws, you might even be reimbursed for vehicle replacement. No fault policy says that you are entitled to reimbursement due to an accident regardless if you are at fault. Also, you can collect these benefits from your insurance company. In addition to Minnesota, there are eleven more no-fault insurance states.
Minnesota’s no fault insurance law was created to protect insureds; it is the responsibility of the policyholder, however, to be aware of the statutes change. Minnesota law requires a minimum no fault policy equal to $20,000 for medical coverage for any individual and $20,000 for all other losses including any income loss, replacement services, and other economic losses. To prevent financial catastrophe, It is recommended to get more than the state minimum requirement.
It is important that you start the insurance claim process right after an accident. Why? Because there are time lines set up to expire, under which you lose all rights to any reimbursement or compensation. Make sure you know the required time for filing a claim. If you suspect any statute changes, contact a injury lawyer who is knowledgeable about no fault insurance. The best thing to do is to keep yourself updated with any change. What are the requirements to make a claim? Under the Minnesota no-fault insurance statute, the claimant must get past at least one of several thresholds before they qualify to make a claim.
The thresholds are as follows:
Minnesota no fault insurance covers most, if not all, of your medical expenses. To check out the medical expense statutes under Minnesota no fault auto insurance policy, read the Minnesota No Fault Insurance Procedure under “No Fault Guides For Consumers”.
In addition to lost wages and medical expenses, Minnesota no fault benefits also honor mileage claims. If you are injured, no fault benefits will also repay you for any “reasonable” mileage expenses incurred for transportation to and from your medical provider. All of these benefits are available to you, the consumers. However, it is your responsibility to be aware of changes to Minnesota no fault insurance statutes.